Pwani Ufanisi Farmers Cooperative Society Limited was registered in 2018 with the overall objective of alleviating poverty in the Coast region through Agricultural and blue economy related interventions. The area of operation of the Cooperative include the Coastal six counties of Kilifi, Kwale, Lamu,Mombasa Taita Taveta and Tana River.

PUFCO derives its mandate from the Cooperative Societies Act 2004 (Revised 2012) and it is governed through this Act, Cooperative rules and Regulations, the Commissioner’s circulars, PUFCO By-Laws and AGM resolutions . The affairs of the Cooperative society are governed by the Management Committee elected from the general membership and overseen by the Supervisory Committee both reporting to the AGM.

The management committee runs the affairs of the Cooperative through sub committees who operate through delegated powers and duties. Besides the Management and Supervisory Committees, PUFCO also has an Advisory Board with representation from all the six counties -whose major role is to advise the Management Committee as well as act as the vision careers of the Cooperative.